### SENATE MEMBERS

Robert Stivers President, LRC Co-Chair David Givens President Pro Tempore Damon Thayer Majority Floor Leader Gerald A. Neal Minority Floor Leader Julie Raque Adams Majority Caucus Chair Reginald Thomas

Minority Caucus Chair Mike Wilson Majority Whip David Yates Minority Whip



## LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH COMMISSION

State Capitol 700 Capital Avenue Frankfort KY 40601

#### 502-564-8100

Capitol Fax 502-564-2922 Annex Fax 502-564-6543 legislature.ky.gov

> Jay D. Hartz Director

# **MEMORANDUM**

TO:	All Members of the
	Interim Joint Committee on Appropriations and Revenue

- FROM:Jennifer C. Hays, Committee Staff AdministratorJennifer C. HaysAppropriations and Revenue Committee
- **DATE:** December 1, 2024

SUBJECT: Staff Summary Major Recycling Tax Credit Approved in 2023

- KRS 141.390 defines "major recycling project" to mean a project location where the taxpayer:
  - 1. Invests more than \$10,000,000 in recycling or composting equipment to be used exclusively in this state;
  - 2. Has at least 400 full-time employees with an average hourly wage of more than 300% of the federal minimum wage; and
  - 3. Has plant and equipment with a total cost of more than \$500,000,000.

For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2019, a taxpayer that has a major recycling project is entitled to a credit against the income tax and the limited liability entity tax. The total tax credit shall be an amount equal to 25% of the installed cost of the recycling and composting equipment, limited to a period of 30 years commencing with the approval of the recycling credit application. Additionally, the amount of credit claimed in a taxable year shall not exceed 75% of the total of each tax liability which would be otherwise due for that taxable year.

The Department of Revenue is required to report specific data items to this committee no later than November 1 each year. The Department has submitted that report. However, that report contains sensitive and confidential information. Because the number of taxpayers contained within the report is so few, no information can be shared regarding the location of the project or the amount a credit claimed. Generally, three or more taxpayers are required to share cumulative information about the tax credit.

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

David W. Osborne Speaker, LRC Co-Chair **David Meade** Speaker Pro Tempore Steven Rudy Majority Floor Leader **Derrick Graham Minority Floor Leader** Suzanne Miles Majority Caucus Chair **Cherlynn Stevenson** Minority Caucus Chair Jason Nemes Majority Whip **Rachel Roberts** Minority Whip